Friday, 21 June 2013

Fire Emblem: Awakening review

Fire Emblem Awakening

The Fire Emblem series was always one that never got the recognition it was owed in the west, it was a bold mix of RPG goodness and Advance Wars type battles that was as refreshing as it was fun. We western peasants never got to experience the joys of the franchise until the series hit the GBA In 2003 over here, mostly due to interest sparked by series protagonists Marth and Roy being Super Smash Bros Melee.  
Awakening is the sixth title in the franchise for us English speaking gamers, and instead of bringing the tried and tested formula to the 3DS, it serves as an invigoration the series actually didn’t really need, but damn, does it work.

The story this time around, subjectively, is not the enthralling twisted tales of swords and sorcery that was entwined into the last few Fire Emblem games. Instead we are given our very own character, complete with full customisation options, who (shock horror) has a dreaded case of amnesia. Despite the generic story ploy, the amnesia serves as a useful way to make your character the tabula rasa that you can gradually project yourself onto. The other plot theme revolves around this, with character Chrom and his band of misfit heroes quelling an uprising of evil across his land. Standard themes like warring nations, evil dragons and mad kings pop up once again, but they only really serve as a backbone for the characters to work through, who, like with past games, are the main crux of the game, with plenty of rich backstory and support conversations to delve into.

Fire Emblem: Awakening is a strategy RPG. Simply put, you are given a map for which you are tasked with defeating the boss or taking out all the enemies on the screen (sadly, less mission types than past games). In order to do this you pick the characters from your army that you wish to use, place them on the field and move through the grid based map decimating every foe you see. As its also an RPG, the game features your typical leveling up, plus a reworked class system, allowing characters to be passed through different classes earning lots of stat boosts and new skills, which opens up creativity options throughout the 30+ hour campaign.

In past games, when your character died, they stayed dead. No phoenix downs, no max revives, just pain and anguish. This always led to the hard choice of either leaving a character you’ve brought up levels upon levels and let them die, or restart the map all over again, losing the progress you put into the last 40 minutes of the story. It’s a harder choice than it sounds, but fortunately Intelligent Systems have implemented an easy mode, which turns permanent deaths into temporary ones. It’s not an option the majority of us will use, the latter three modes (hard, lunatic and lunatic+) will still push you to the edges of your sanity, but for those just getting into the series the feature is sure to be welcoming.



Customisation is the biggest feature added to the game, which is all centered on a new marriage system. Characters can now get married providing that they have the required support perquisites, which consequently leads to offspring (this is explained through the game, don’t worry) that carry the traits of their parents. Naturally, customisation options become available and the chance to really craft the army you desire becomes apparent. This idea of support between characters adds onto another brand new feature, dual striking. This being that when two characters are stood next to each other, there is a high chance that both characters will attack the foe together, which gives rise to all sorts of new strategies.
StreetPass is featured rather well, when data is passed between consoles, the passer by will receive the other’s team, which can then be battled and the main character can be recruited (the opponents in game avatar). SpotPass is superbly implemented and massively increases the amount of gameplay through free downloadable characters, weapons and maps. This is not to be confused with the premium DLC, featuring a whole host of brand new maps and storylines, which are well worth the money for the DLC packs that are released every Thursday.

Sadly, the lack of a true online multiplayer is somewhat of a let down, it doesn’t detract from the game, but with all the character and army customisation, there would have been massive potential for a brand new online experience.

Awakening definitely spares no expense in presentation, with polish to the highest standard and graphics that are on par with the Vita. CGI cutscenes and battle scenes are presented with beautiful 3D models of characters, the former being pre-rendered and breathtaking to watch, despite the seldom use of them. The smoothness of the visuals ease the gameplay a lot and make the devious maps that much more enticing and immersive.

The sound design is what you would expect from the series; full of jaunty battle music, emotional concertos and the odd despairing tone. It works perfectly with the game and its top notch presentation, and is arguably one of the best soundtracks in recent history.  No voice acting is present, apart from in the few CGI cutscenes, all other dialogue is voiced with small grunts or one-word catchphrases, which is odd but the lack of talking does not impact on the overall greatness of the game.

What can I say? It’s just perfection in portable form, well worth the 100+ hours I put into the game with my plethora of playthroughs, a large number of hours I am sure any other gamer is likely to put into Awakening over time. Stop wasting time and just go and play this game already, it is more than worth it.

Play it. Now. 

Friday, 31 May 2013

The Jose Herrias Generation Game - The games of the generation #PT1 (consoles)

Oh, wow, it seems like only yesterday I was plugging my then brand new Xbox 360 into my 20" flat screen TV, oooh how badass I felt with that then pricey tech. Fast forward and that TV's been upgraded multiple times and my 360 has now been lost to the red ring disease. Oh yeah, and I managed to play a crap ton of games. So, with my undoubtedly correct opinion, I give you my generation in review...(kinda, it's basically just me spouting hot air and you probably reading about 20 lines of this crap and giving up, loljk, enjoy)

Anyway, on with it.

Consoles

PS3, 360 and the Wii. 3 consoles and only one could be my favourite. So what was mine?

Opoona; a stark example of the Wii's quirky game library
This is where I am going to get quite a bit of flak here, but quite honestly I preferred the Nintendo Wii. Yes, that little white box that had absolutely 'no games' was my favourite gaming companion throughout this past few years of gaming. Despite it being pretty much backwards in tech and design, I always liked how it did what it set out to accomplish; video gaming. No bullshit, just a box that plays games, was fully backwards compatible and had an absolute slew of really unique titles...just hidden under an amalgamation of cancerous shovelware.


It lacked third party software, but that's where my PS3 and 360 came in, but the exclusives, that was where the Wii shined for me. Turn on the console, no massive loading, no stupid updates, just put in a game, click on it and enjoy. Sure, a few games may have suffered from wagglemania, but a lot of the best games for the system managed to overcome this by keeping to what it knew and using old school classic controls or utilising the wagglemote in a way that was truly innovative (think Zak and Wiki or Metroid Prime 3)

So what about the other 2, surely I loved them? Well, that's half right, sadly I absolutely despised the Xbox 360, it just never appealed to my tastes and I was always victim to the console (and Microsoft's) bullshit on a constant basis. After 3 red rings I decided to not bother anymore, and bought a PS3. Then my parents bought two 360's for Netflixing and that's where I ended up getting my M$ exclusives fix when I had to.
It did have a sweet ass controller though. Dem triggers.

The PS3 ended up becoming my other familiar in the console race, supplying me with a similar amount of games that managed to pull off that unique charm I loved the Wii for. Double, no, triple, that with the fact that it also managed to receive all the third party multiplat games I wanted to play and the whole multimedia thing (mainly BluRay) and I was a happy bunny. It's just a shame that the system felt sort of...unstable...at times, especially with online and updates, random crashes and that lovely time in which the PSN was hacked.
Multimedia done right

So yes, the Wii won it for me, if it weren't for a few problems with the PS3 that I just described, then that probably would have been number 1 for me. But oh well, guess that's just gaming.

Here's hoping that the PS4 doesn't suck and that the Xbone fails so hard it drops from gaming (not that I'm a hater or anything...)